Me gusta Madrid

img_0373

What a week in Madrid.  If you haven’t been to this incredible city I couldn’t recommend it any more!  There is so much to do and so much to see.  I landed lucky with the weather which undoubtedly helped.  But Madrid is a very friendly place, the metro network is fantastic and getting about is super easy.  The food is fantastic and the sites are amazing.  In need of a city break at all?  Well Madrid should definitely be on your list.

I think it also helps that I was here with my sister who knew a lot of good places to visit and the good cafes and restaurants.  Although stepping away from the major tourist areas it isn’t too difficult to find them.  One of the best things and something you should try is a ‘bocadillo de calamares’; basically a squid baguette…  But it is far nicer than it sounds!

I have really taken to photography this week.  I have always taken photos but I really got into it this week.  Working in manual and setting up the camera properly is somewhat new to me but it definitely helps produce better photos; at least I think it does!  I am pretty picky with my images though and there are few which I genuinely really like.  I have captured hundreds of memories however and photography is incredible in that why.  I think I am going to pursue it further and maybe look into a course.  I would really like to get better at it and be able to take even better images and capture more of the moments that I am experiencing.

img_0952

In all honesty for a long time I never really used social media.  I had it but I never really used them and I have not long gotten back into the way of it.  In fact I am still really working it all out.  I tend not to always be thinking about posting or mentioning what I am doing.  But I like that.  I am not always fixated on posting to the internet and in a way there are so many people who run their lives by the internet and I don’t know how that can be healthy at all.  This blog is probably the most consistent thing that I upload online and I do enjoy it.

I do want to start a ‘vlog’ of sorts but I am still trying to work it all out.  It really is strange speaking to a camera when you have never done it before but as with everything, practice makes perfect.  I will keep working at it and hopefully in time I will be able to put out some videos about my challenge.  Just keep watching this space!  I really think it will be a good way of showcasing the challenge and the things that I am getting up to.  At the end of the day, the more people we can get the message to – the more money we can raise.

I have been looking through all of the documentation for climbing Mount Kilimanjaro and in some ways, the documentation is as daunting as the mountain.  I  can understand why there is so much paperwork involved.  It does carry some risk in the form of ‘Acute Mountain Sickness’ and health and safety is clearly important.  It has given me more confidence that Jagged Globe are the people to do this trip with.  They seem to be incredibly well organised and that bodes well for the expedition.

Travelling is now one of the things which I most enjoy to do and I want to continue to do more of it.  I just have one gripe and and it is in reference to airports.  Well more specifically, people in airports.  There is one thing and one thing only which makes travel through an airport difficult.  If only people were organised!  Such a simple thing can make travel through an airport absolutely painless.  Yet, I would suggest in excess of 50% of people completely fail at this.  I guess it becomes easier the more you travel.  But it is possible to get your things ready whilst you are standing in a queue.  My one pet hate is people who stand in a  long queue and fail to prepare themselves for whatever lies at the end of said queue.  It just slows the whole process down and really does frustrate me.

Unfortunately, my annual leave is already pretty much over and I will be back to work in a couple of days.  The 6 Nations match between Scotland and Wales at BT Murrayfield is on Saturday and I am hopeful for another good game.  It will be a tough game for Scotland however, now that we are missing our captain Greig Laidlaw.  But it is a team sport and I would hope that they will still give Wales a good game.  Scotland have certainly improved and I hope that they are able to continue with the good performances that they have shown they are capable of in recent games.  Time will tell though and we will see what the squad is really made of.

“Our greatest weakness lies in giving up.  The most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time.” – Thomas A. Edison

It would be incredibly easy for me to give up.  Giving up is always easy.  But there is one thing that scares me, which means I can’t ever give up; failure.  I hate failing.  I always have done and I am pretty sure that I always will.  Being scared of failure influences everything I do really.  Nothing is worse for me than when I don’t succeed at something I try.  It applies to everything and I see it in the same way that people with OCD must obtain perfection.  Except I just like being good at things.  I am sure that everyone likes to be good at things, but it really does frustrate me when I am not.

I have no idea where it all came from.  But it is something which now has a real and genuine influence on the way in which I approach everyday tasks.  It makes me fearful at times and sometimes stops me from trying new things.  I am trying to rein it in a little however, especially now as I try and raise this money.  I need to do more and try more, it is something which excited me about the prospect of this challenge.  Having said that, ultimately only time will tell.

I just need to try; just one more time.

J.

Leave a Reply

