Positivity, Promotion and Perseverance

I have set myself an almighty challenge of raising £1 Million for Cancer Research UK.  In my last  blog post I discussed how, well an element of the how.

I am not particularly good at making ad hoc, unplanned decisions (especially with a project as large as this) and so I have done my best to try and set a plan or strategy that details how I aim to achieve my goal.  I mean I can make a quick decision about going to the pub or how I am going to make my cup of tea, but this project/challenge requires a vast amount of planning.

Goal setting is my thing, it gives purpose and drive to life.  When an objective is set, we can work towards it, adjusting our actions along the way in order to ensure final success.  I can’t function properly without objective setting.  It’s something I have done for a very long time without realising.

I am extremely fortunate that I was successful in lots of different things throughout my childhood and it moulded me into someone who is extremely competitive, who hates losing and doesn’t take failing well.  If I am on the losing side of my shifts Christmas quiz it frustrates me.  I will never profess to being great at everything, I know for a fact that there are lots of things I am terrible at.  But, the things which I am not good at are the things which I never planned out.

“Prior Preparation Prevents Poor Performance” – British Army

As time goes by I think I am beginning to understand the enormity of what we are trying to do.  But I am not deterred and, having read so many fantastically positive comments I am more motivated than ever to make sure this dream of helping Cancer Research UK becomes a reality.

I tried writing a number of possible plans, but none of them answered the significant question of ‘how’ definitively.  In doing this, I did notice that I seemed to reiterate the same three words over and over again.

Positivity, Promotion and Perseverance.

These three words summarise just what we need to do I think.  We must always remain positive that we will achieve the target.  There are amazing people who are dealing with Cancer who never let the disease affect their spirits.  So we should follow their incredible example.  If they can battle cancer with a positive can do attitude, we can raise all this money.

As for promotion – if no one knows about this campaign and all the various challenges that are going to be taking place how can we expect to achieve the target.  Where a positive opportunity for promotion exists we have to take it.  I want to get out and talk to people, talk about the disease and how it has affected myself and my family and I want to talk to people about why research is so important.

Finally perseverance.  Raising £1 Million will never happen overnight, unless your some sort of rich person with the moral conscience to donate it to such a cause.  Maintaining a dedication to positivity and promotion is the most critical part, I can never allow myself to get into a rut and give up on the target.  There is zero point in doing all of this otherwise.  I’ve got to raise this million pounds.

I have heard people say that we will never beat Cancer.  But I can’t agree with them.  It is only when we solely adopt this negative approach that we will never beat it.  We are beating Cancer, as every minute, hour and day go by, research is helping us get closer.  I do not know when that day may be.  But it will come, of that I am positive.

On the 4th of November I had a very positive and helpful meeting with my Station Manager.  We discussed a number of things about this challenge and just what I am trying to achieve.  But I think we can now begin promoting this challenge and engaging with more people.  I have spent months agonising over all the different aspects of this challenge and to finally get the green light from my work feels like a very significant step in the right direction.

Letters and emails need to be compiled and my strategy finalised.  But we are now in the position to start making some real progress.  We can start the true fundraising and spreading the positive message to those who are suffering from the disease.

I am learning a lot as I do this and I am finding that raising money for charity does so many things for you as an individual.  It has to be one of the most underrated things in this world.

If you want to develop yourself, raise some money for charity.

J.

Leave a Reply

